Thought leaders in vaccines, DNA vaccines and electroporation

David B. Weiner, Ph.D.

Chairman, Inovio Scientific Advisory Board

Executive Vice President, Director, Vaccine Center

and W.W. Smith Endowed Chair in Cancer Research,

The Wistar Institute 

DAVID B. WEINER is Executive Vice President of The Wistar Institute, Director of its Vaccine Center, and the W. W. Smith Charitable Trust Endowed Professorship in Cancer Research. The Wistar Institute is the nation’s first independent biomedical research institute, NCI-designated Cancer Center, and an international leader in cancer, immunology and infectious disease research. Previously, Dr. Weiner was Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and Chair of the Gene Therapy and Vaccine Program at the University’s Perelman School of Medicine and co-leader of the Tumor Virology Program of the Abramson Cancer Center at Penn. 

Dr. Weiner is a world-renowned leader in immunology as well as gene vaccines and immunotherapy. In scientific circles he is known as the “father of DNA vaccines.” He has more than 350 peer-reviewed publications in scientific journals, including mainstream scientific journals such as Scientific American, and has been designated by the Institute for Scientific Information as one of the top-cited scientists in the world. An inventor of more than 100 issued and pending U.S. patents, Dr. Weiner has received numerous honors including election as a fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2011 and the International Society for Vaccines in 2012. He was the recipient of the NIH Director’s Transformative Research Award and received the Vaccine Industry Excellence Award for Best Academic Research Team in 2015 at the World Vaccine Congress and again in 2016. Weiner was honored with the prestigious Hilleman Lectureship in 2015 at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Grand Rounds session and received a Stone Family Award from Abramson Cancer Center for his groundbreaking work on DNA vaccines for cancer immune therapy.

David Weiner holds a Ph.D. in developmental biology from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, an M.S. in biology from the University of Cincinnati, and a B.S. in biology from SUNY at Stony Brook in Stony Brook, N.Y. 

Anthony Ford-Hutchinson, Ph.D.

 Former Senior Vice President, Vaccines R&D, Merck

ANTHONY FORD-HUTCHINSON has over 30 years' experience in vaccine development and commercialization and was formerly at Merck and Co. During his tenure at Merck, Dr. Ford-Hutchinson played a leadership role in the development of several new blockbuster vaccines, including Gardasil®, Zostavax®, Proquad® and Rotateq®. He was also responsible for the development of many important Merck drugs, including Singulair®, Arcoxia® and Isentress® for asthma, pain/inflammation, and the treatment of HIV infection.

Dr. Ford-Hutchinson, who retired from Merck in early 2012, was most recently Senior Vice President, Vaccines Research and Development and Chairman of the Board of Directors for MSD Wellcome Trust Hilleman Labs. He has held many other prominent positions at Merck in Canada and the USA, including Executive Vice President for Worldwide Research. He was responsible for all strategic decisions in Merck's vaccine R&D following appointment as franchise head in 2005, producing a pipeline with three vaccines in phase III trials and a number of others in earlier development. He obtained his Bachelor's degree in biochemistry from the University of Birmingham, a Master's in molecular enzymology from the University of Warwick, and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of London.

Stanley A. Plotkin, M.D.

Emeritus Professor, Wistar Institute and University of Pennsylvania
Principal, Vaxconsult

STANLEY PLOTKIN developed the rubella vaccine now used worldwide and has worked extensively on the development and application of other vaccines including polio, rabies, varicella, rotavirus and cytomegalovirus. He is Emeritus Professor, Wistar Institute and the University of Pennsylvania, and is a principal of Vaxconsult.

Over the course of his career he has served as senior assistant surgeon with the Epidemic Intelligence Service of the U.S. Public Health Service; Chairman of the Infectious Diseases Committee and the AIDS Task Force of the American Academy of Pediatrics; Chairman of the Microbiology and Infectious Diseases Research Committee of the National Institutes of Health; director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; associate chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, University of Pennsylvania; medical and scientific director of Aventis Pasteur; and executive advisor to Sanofi Pasteur. Over 600 of his articles have been published, and he has edited several books including Vaccines, now the standard textbook in the field.

Dr. Plotkin's numerous professional awards include:

  • The medal of the Fondation Mérieux (2007);
  • The Fleming (Bristol) Award of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (2004);
  • The Sabin Foundation Medal (2002);
  • The French Legion Medal of Honor (1998);
  • The Clinical Virology Award, Pan American Group for Rapid Viral Diagnosis (1995);
  • The Distinguished Physician Award, Pediatric Infectious Disease Society (1993); and,
  • The Bruce Medal of the American College of Physicians (1987).

Dr. Plotkin earned his M.D. at the State University of New York, Downstate College of Medicine and holds honorary degrees from the University of Pennsylvania and the University of Rouen (France). He serves on the Board of Directors of Dynavax and is Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board of Mymetics as well as serving as an International Society for Vaccines advisor.